Contest songs

As I was adjudicating last weekend at the Classical Singer conference in Chicago, I kept track of the songs from the High School Musical Theatre (Legit) second round.

In no particular order, here’s the list:

What good would the moon be.  Street Scene

Make Believe.  Showboat

I feel pretty.  West Side Story

If I were a bell.  Guys and Dolls

Art is calling for me.  Victor Herbert (four times)

Into the fire.  Scarlet Pimpernel

How could I ever know.  Secret Garden

I don’t know what I’d do.  A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder (twice)

Tell me on a Sunday.  Song and Dance

Waitin’ for my dearie.  Brigadoon

The beauty is.  The Light in the Piazza

Stars.  Les Miserables

Les Poissons.  Little Mermaid

The Impossible Dream.  Man of La Mancha

Mr. Snow.  Carousel

Green Finch and Linnet Bird.  Sweeney Todd (five times!)

Beyond my wildest dreams.  Little Mermaid

If I loved you.  Carousel

I’m a stranger here.  Touch of Venus

And this is my beloved.  Kismet

The life I never led.  Sister Act

Warm all over.  The Most Happy Fella

Cool.  West Side Story (complete with choreography, flips, and a muscle shirt)

I rise again.  On the 20th Century

If ever I would leave you. Camelot

White Christmas.  Holiday Inn

My white knight.  The Music Man

The devil you know.  Side Show

Bless your beautiful hide.  Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

I could have danced all night.  My Fair Lady

Il mondo . . .  The Light in the Piazza

My true love.  Phantom

Wishing you were somehow here again.  Phantom of the Opera

About Jeffrey Carter

University administrator, voice teacher, choral director, professor, singer, professional theatre music director, brother, son, uncle, Anglican, Scotch drinker, chef of moderate talent, NPR fanatic, gin aficionado, proponent of the music of Herbert Howells and Elgar and Vaughan Williams, pianist, composer, theatre geek, dog love & cat hater, author & blogger, world traveler, church organist, Anglophile.

Leave a Reply

