Musical theatre audition songs

With Jocelyn before auditions on Monday.  I wasn't looking this lively Tuesday at 6!

With Jocelyn before auditions on Monday. I wasn’t looking this lively Tuesday at 6!

I am finished now with two days (11.5 hours!) of auditions at the 2014 International Thespian Society annual conference. We have more to go on Thursday and Friday.

I have been keeping track of most of the songs that have been used for auditions here as rising high school seniors are singing for various college and university reps.

Herewith, a nearly-complete list in no particular order (and not checked for duplicates):

  • Someone Like You – Jekkyl & Hyde
  • Life of the Party – Wild Party
  • Blow Gabriel Blow – Anything Goes
  • I am Aldolpho – Drowsy Chaperone
  • When words fail – Shrek
  • Breathe – In the Heights
  • As long as he needs me – Oliver!
  • Somewhere that’s green – Little Shop of Horrors
  • Fly, fly away – Catch me if you can
  • In these skies – Ace
  • Green finch and linnet bird – Sweeney Todd
  • Many a new day – Oklahoma!
  • Benny’s Dispatch – In the Heights
  • Here I Am – Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
  • Notice me, Horton – Seussical
  • Corner of the Sky – Pippin
  • So Anyway – Next to Normal (I would urge careful consideration and caution before using this for an audition!  It’s too specific, too hard for a youngster to understand, and too identified with a particular singer.)
  • Gimme, gimme – Thoroughly Modern Millie (I would urge careful consideration and caution before using this for an audition! It’s overdone.)
  • Maybe This Time – Cabaret
  • Lost in the Wilderness – Children of Eden
  • Together Again – Young Frankenstein
  • Now I Have Everything – Fiddler on the Roof
  • Pulled – Addams Family
  • Being Alive – Company
  • She Loves Me – She Loves Me
  • Javert’s Suicide – Les Miserables
  • If you were gay – Avenue Q
  • Part of your world – Little Mermaid (I would urge careful consideration and caution before using this for an audition! The song tends to be a bit cloying when taken out of context.)
  • Change – A New Brain
  • What About Me? – 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
  • Cross the Line – Big
  • Live in living color – Catch Me If You Can
  • All through the night – Cole Porter
  • Giants in the sky – Into the Woods
  • Mama who bore me – Spring Awakening
  • Beyond my wildest dreams – Little Mermaid
  • Love, look away – Flower Drum Song
  • Little Shop of Horrors – Little Shop of Horrors
  • Once more I can see – Wonderland
  • I don’t remember you – Happy Time
  • A Mix Tape – Avenue Q
  • I will prevail – Wonderland
  • The Life I Never Led – Sister Act
  • Loose Ends – Witches of Eastwick
  • Model Behavior – Women on the Verge of Nervous Breakdown
  • The gentleman is a dope – Allegro
  • If I loved you – Carousel
  • Don’t rain on my parade – Funny Girl (I would urge careful consideration and caution before using this for an audition! It’s identified with an inimitable star.)
  • King Herod’s Song – Jesus Christ Superstar
  • Fire Within Me – Little Women
  • Some things are meant to be – Little Women
  • In know the truth – Aida
  • Santa Fe – Newsies (I would urge careful consideration and caution before using this for an audition! The song is too current with a particular show.)
  • Magic to Do – Pippin
  • Pretty Funny – Dogfight
  • Grow for Me – Little Shop of Horrors
  • I can hear the bells – Hairspray
  • Some Day – The Wedding Singer
  • Cabaret – Cabaret
  • Miracle of Miracles – Fiddler on the Roof
  • Sailor of my dreams – Dames at Sea
  • Dancing all the time – Big
  • And this is my beloved – Kismet
  • Run away with me
  • Colored Women – Memphis
  • Far from the home I love – Fiddler on the Roof
  • This world will remember – Bonnie & Clyde
  • Man Inside the  . . . – Catch Me If You Can
  • Out of my dreams – Oklahoma!
  • I got plenty of nothin’ – Porgy & Bess
  • Go the Distance – Hercules
  • I Don’t Do Sadness – Spring Awakening
  • O mio babbino caro – La Rondine
  • Once upon a time – Brooklyn
  • Lonely Town – On the Town
  • Who I Be – Shrek
  • Waiting for life – Once on This Island
  • Fine fine line – Avenue Q
  • Patterns – Baby
  • Don’t Let Me Go – Shrek
  • Pirate King – Pirates of Penzance
  • When I’m not with the girl I love – Finian’s Rainbow
  • I want to be bad – Follow Through
  • Sunset Boulevard – Sunset Boulevard
  • A little brains – Damn Yankees
  • Bigger is better – When Pigs Fly
  • Watch What Happens – Newsies
  • Someone to watch over me – Gershwin
  • Dying Ain’t So Bad – Bonnie & Clyde
  • Perfect – Edges
  • A trip to the library – She Loves Me
  • History of Wrong Guys – Kinky Boots
  • Quiet – Forward
  • Climbing Up Hill – Last Five Years
  • Hello, Tom
  • How are things in Glocca Mora – Finian’s Rainbow
  • Any place I hang my hat – St. Louis Woman
  • I decided to marry you – Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder
  • My white knight – The Music Man
  • Everlasting – Tuck Everlasting
  • DeLovely – Anything Goes
  • Where is love – Oliver!
  • If he walked into my life – Mame
  • May I like it this way – Wild Party
  • Mr. Snow – Carousel
Tags:

About Jeffrey Carter

University administrator, voice teacher, choral director, professor, singer, professional theatre music director, brother, son, uncle, Anglican, Scotch drinker, chef of moderate talent, NPR fanatic, gin aficionado, proponent of the music of Herbert Howells and Elgar and Vaughan Williams, pianist, composer, theatre geek, dog love & cat hater, author & blogger, world traveler, church organist, Anglophile.

Leave a Reply

